It’s MY Party!

Today’s prompt :”Since many are marking their country’s “birthday” in the US today, we wanted to ask: How do you celebrate yours? Are you all for a big bash, or more of a low-key birthday boy/girl?”

First of all, go America for the 4th of July, even though John Adams wanted it to be on the 2nd of July. Either way, Happy birthday America!

When I was a kid, I celebrated almost every year with a bunch of friends at the skating rink. Which was a lot of fun. I love to skate, even though I have no coordination whatsoever. I still loved it.

Then I got a little older, and had slumber parties with my closest friends, but decided that was not a good idea. I was friends with everyone, but that didn’t necessarily mean they were friends with each other. So the next few years, I celebrated my birthday for a whole week with different friends.

On my 16th birthday, I had a hot tub/karaoke party. It was one of the best ones I have ever had. My dad thinks he is in a hair metal band from the 80s, which made that birthday hilarious. We had blow-up instruments. Classic.

For the next few years, I spent my birthdays at the mall with various people. That was always fun. I used to love to shop. Also, my parents always gave me a week of festivities. I got spoiled.

When I moved back down south, I had big parties with tons of friends and family.

I spent my 21st doing the normal, let’s get me drunk to where I can’t walk or talk anymore. I guess that was a right of passage or something. It was still way too much fun. We found out my alcohol tolerance was super high then, for someone of my size.

Now, in my 24th year, I enjoy my birthday month extravaganza that I am now spoiled to. The week of my birthday, we go crazy. Dinner with different relatives, movies, bars, all the fun. I generally get my hair and nails done. I bake my own cake because I am really into baking and I enjoy my from scratch cakes better than most box cakes(I know that makes me snobby). Oh well.

This year will probably be more along the lines of hanging out. I also like to get tattooed on my birthday. This year is my Sailor Moon thigh piece(do not judge).

So that is my life of birthdays! Go me. Can’t wait to read other people’s habits!

❤ For Now.

Show Me Love

