The Time Traveler’s Wife

I recently just finished The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. What a name. From start to finish, I could not put this book down. It was one of the best representations of time travel I have ever read, or watched in a movie. I did not, however, enjoy the movie that was made after the book.

I feel like it is really hard to get time travel to be believable and so life-like. She nailed it. It starts off in the present day, of course, to when Henry meets Clare for the first time, even though she has known him since she was 6 years old. Don’t worry, you find that out in the same chapter. She asks him on a date so she can explain things to him, and when they go out, she attempts to explain things to him gently, but I can only imagine how hard it would be to explain that you have known someone for fourteen years because they are a time traveler and have visited you all your life, but you have only just met them that day. It would probably be weird for anyone. Either way, she gets him to understand that they are married in the future and so the story begins.

The rest of the book is full of Henry’s older self going to visit a young Clare in the meadow behind her large house. It must have been even weirder for Henry to explain to a six year old Clare that he is a time traveler and not a dangerous person. When he time travels, of course, he ends up naked, so he has to shield her of that for a while too. He does convince her on their first visit and tells her the dates in which to come back to meet him, so she will bring him food and clothes.  She grows up with him in this meadow, and at twenty years old, she has to go find him so they meet in the present.

This is a very romantic, but sad, story in the end. I had the ending ruined for me, but in that person’s defense, I did ask and she has no poker face, so I instantly knew the ending. It did not stop me from reading the whole thing, however. The story was very life affirming. There is action, romance, conflict, and real life problems in the family, who doesn’t have that though?

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good story, to laugh, and to cry, and if you have read it, let me know your thoughts on the book.

Anyway, it is almost 4:30 in the morning here, so I should probably go to sleep.

Goodnight world!

Show Me Love

